Wisner Township

  a rural community on Saginaw Bay


Other Boards & Commissions


Township Assessor:

Nathan Hager

7469 Clifford Rd.

Marlette, MI 48453


[email protected]

In accordance with the General Property Tax Laws of the State of Michigan, the Township Assessor estimates the true cash value, assessed value and taxable value of every parcel of real and personal property within Wisner Township. The Assessor is responsible for the valuation of all real and personal property in Wisner Township that is not specifically exempted by law. The assessor prepares assessment rolls and evaluates all new construction and improvements to real property.

The taxable status of property is determined as of December 31 of each year for the next tax year.

The Michigan State Tax Commission requires periodic inspection of all real property parcels. Inspections are necessary to maintain complete and accurate assessment records and the assessor may survey, examine or review properties at any time during the year.

The assessor  reviews the assessment records of both new construction and existing property throughout the year.

Planning Commission:

Norman Cosens (thru 2021) 989-213-5724

Chair, Chuck McLaren (thru 2019)  248-535-2458

Secretary, Tim Rumble  (thru 2020)  989-671-7176

Vice chair, Leanne Lindenberg (thru 2021)   989-233-3791

Twp Board Liaison: Katie Meyers (thru 2020) 989-327-2380

Email:  [email protected]


Most local governments establish planning commissions to oversee the development (or updating) of the master plan and later, the zoning ordinance.

Once established, the planning commission conducts public hearings and advises the township board on planning and zoning issues.

Authorities and Responsibilities:

  • Shall make and adopt a basic plan as a guide for the development of the unincorporated portions of the township.
  • Shall approve/deny construction, location and character of streets, squares, parks or other public ways, grounds or open space, or public buildings and structures.
  • The township board may designate the powers of a zoning board to a planning commission, including making recommendations as to a zoning plan, districts and ordinance, and, per the township's ordinance, approving special land uses, planned unit developments and site plans.


5 members who must be representative of important segments of the community, such as the economic, governmental, educational, and social development of the local unit of government, in accordance with the major interests as they exist in the local unit of government, such as agriculture, natural resources, recreation, education, public health, government, transportation, industry, and commerce. The membership must also be representative of the entire geography of the local unit of government to the extent practicable.

Members of a planning commission must be qualified electors of the township, except one planning commission member may be individual who is not a qualified elector. (To be a qualified elector, a person must be 18 years of age, a U.S. citizen, and have lived in the township at least 30 days. Property ownership is NOT required).

One member of the township board shall be an ex officio member of the planning commission.

All members of the planning commission shall be appointed by the township supervisor with the approval of the township board, for a term of 3 years, with the exception of the ex officio member, whose term expires with his or her term on the township board.

Compensation to Members: 

Members are compensated